Connect with us

World Cup

Manchester City Players at the 2022 World Cup

Manchester City suffered a disappointing 2-1 loss against Brentford in their final Premier League match before the 2022 World Cup. Ivan Toney, who was overlooked by England boss Gareth Southgate, provided a standout performance by striking twice to condemn City to their second league defeat of the season. 

However, Pep Guardiola’s side have been highly impressive overall and are firm favourites to defend their league title. And with Erling Haaland in their ranks, the Citizens could also land the Champions League trophy, something which has eluded them for all these years. The Norwegian has been absolutely unstoppable as he has already reached 18 goals in just 13 matches. 

Manchester City stars at the World Cup 

City are one of the most represented clubs at the prestigious tournament, with a whopping 16 of their players picked in the 2022 World Cup squads. Kyle Walker, John Stones, Phil Foden, Jack Grealish and Kalvin Philips were all named in the England squad as the Three Lions aim to win football’s biggest prize in Qatar this year. Stones and Foden look likely to have more chances in Southgate’s team than the other three. 

Joao Cancelo, Ruben Dias and Bernardo Silva will be representing Portugal who will face Ghana in their opening game before taking on Uruguay and South Korea. 

Meanwhile, Spain have selected two City stars, Aymeric Laporte and Rodrigo, for the prestigious tournament as they look to add to their 2010 World Cup title. 

Ederson was called-up by Brazil but it is hard to see him starting ahead of Liverpool’s Alisson Becker. 

Kevin De Bruyne will be one of the key players for Belgium who have never won the World Cup before. 

Germany have confirmed Ilkay Gundogan in their squad, Manuel Akanji has been picked by Switzerland while Argentina have taken Julian Alvarez to Qatar for the prestigious tournament. 

  • Kyle Walker (England)
  • Ederson (Brazil)
  • John Stones (England)
  • Joao Cancelo (Portugal)
  • Ruben Dias (Portugal)
  • Nathan Ake (Netherlands)
  • Manuel Akanji (Switzerland)
  • Aymeric Laporte (Spain)
  • Rodrigo (Spain)
  • Bernardo Silva (Portugal)
  • Ilkay Gundogan (Germany)
  • Phil Foden (England)
  • Jack Grealish (England)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium)
  • Kalvin Phillips (England)
  • Julian Alvarez (Argentina)
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in World Cup