Connect with us


Yaya Toure departs the Etihad as Man City submit released list

Long-serving midfielder Yaya Toure has left Manchester City after eight years. The Ivorian international is out of contract this summer and it appears he won’t have his deal at the Etihad Stadium renewed after City submitted their released list to the Premier League earlier this month.

Toure joined the Sky Blues from Barcelona in 2010 and went on to make more than 300 appearances in all competitions, winning three Premier League titles, three League Cups and one FA Cup. The 35-year-old was undoubtedly the best midfielder in the Premier League for a short period, combined a cultured style with industry and power to make him a real all-rounder.

Manchester City released players from 2017/18

  • Diallo, Sadou
  • Duhaney, Demeaco
  • Patching, William Luke
  • Sarmiento Martinez, Erik
  • Sokol, Pawel Kazimierz
  • Toure, Gnegneri Yaya
  • Wood, Marcus James

Toure fell down the pecking order last seasons, making just one Premier League start in 2017/18, but he remains a club legend for many supporters for what he achieved in his prime. He joined City at a time where they didn’t have a major top-flight trophy to their name since the Premier League’s inception and helped usher in a new era of success.

David Silva, Kevin de Bruyne, Ilkay Gundogan have kept him on the bench in the last 12 months, but Toure has stated that he wants to play at the top-level when deciding his next club this summer. Despite his advancing age, he still believes he can perform, so it will be interesting to see who he lines up for next.

Manchester City retained players from 2017/18 (Premier League)

  • Abdelkader Diaz, Brahim
  • Adarabioyo, Tosin
  • Aguero Del Castillo, Sergio
  • Agyepong, Thomas
  • Agyiri, Ernest
  • Amankwah, Yeboah
  • Ambrose, Thierry
  • Antuna Romero, Carlos Uriel
  • Barker, Brandon Lee
  • Bolton, Luke Phillip
  • Brattan, Nathan Luke
  • Bravo Munoz, Claudio Andres
  • Bryan, Kean Shay
  • Buckley-Ricketts, Isaac
  • Bytyqi, Sinan
  • Caceres, Anthony
  • Celina, Bersant
  • Corrigan, Ryan
  • Da Silva, Danilo Luiz
  • Davenport, Jacob Alexander
  • De Bruyne, Kevin
  • Dele-Bashiru, Ayotomiwa Sherif
  • Delph, Fabian
  • Denayer, Jason
  • Dilrosun, Javairo Joreno Faustino (offer)
  • Diskerud, Mikkel Morgenstar Palssonn
  • Esmoris Tasende, Jose Angel
  • Fernandes Cantin, Paolo
  • Fernando De Jesus, Gabriel
  • Foden, Philip Walter
  • Francis, Edward Albert
  • Garcia Alonso, Manuel
  • Garcia Serrano, Aleix
  • Garre, Benjamin Antonio
  • Gonzalez, Lorenzo Jose
  • Grimshaw, Daniel James (offer)
  • Gundogan, Ilkay
  • Gunn, Angus Fraser James
  • Harrison, Jack David
  • Hart, Charles Joseph John
  • Herrera Ravelo, Yangel Clemente
  • Humphreys-Grant, Cameron
  • Ilic, Luka
  • Jimenez Silva, David Josue
  • Kayode, Olarenwaju Ayobami
  • Kigbu, Ahogrenashinme
  • Kompany, Vincent
  • Kongolo, Rodney
  • Laporte, Aymeric
  • Latibeaudiere, Joel Owen
  • Luiz Roza, Fernando
  • Luiz Soares De Paulo, Douglas
  • Maffeo Becerra, Pablo
  • Mangala, Eliaquim
  • Mari Villar, Pablo
  • Matondo, Rabbi
  • Mendy, Benjamin
  • Moreno Duran, Marlos
  • Mota Veiga de Carvalho, Bernardo
  • Muric, Arijanet Anan
  • Nemane, Aaron Evans
  • Nmecha, Lukas
  • Nwakali, Chidiebere Chikioke
  • Oliver, Charles William Corrigan
  • Otamendi, Nicolas
  • Poveda-Ocampo, Ian Carlo
  • Pozo La Rosa, Iker
  • Richards, Taylor Jerome
  • Roberts, Patrick John Joseph
  • Rosler, Colin
  • Ross Palmer Brown, Erik
  • Sane, Leroy
  • Santana de Moraes, Ederson
  • Smith, Matthew
  • Smith-Brown, Ashley
  • Sterling, Raheem Shaquille
  • Stones, John
  • Tanor, Collins
  • Walker, Kyle Andrew
  • Wilson, Tyreke
  • Yeboah, Yaw
  • Zinchenko, Oleksandr
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in News